•      Tue Feb 27 2024

Prithvi memorial poetry competition: Umesh wins Rs 100,000

King Prithvinarayan Shah

Kathmandu, Jan 10: Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) has made public a list of winners of the poetry competition organized on the occasion of the Prithvi Jayanti.

RPP Spokesperson and Publicity Department Chief Mohan Shrestha shared that the party had announced an open call for poetry competition targeting youths below the age of 40 during last December 13-31.

A total of 305 poets had sent their creation in the short notice, Shrestha said. An evaluation committee comprising literary writer Biswo Bmohan Shrestha, Dr Nawaraj Lamsal and Momila Joshi was formed for the selection of poems.

In the competition, Umesh Pun Magar of Rukum (West) won the first prize for his poem ‘Deshbhitra Dekheko Desh (Country seen within the country)’. Likewise, Subhash Khanal of Kapilvastu won second prize and Sijan Shrestha of Sankhuwasabha clinched third prize, spokesperson Shrestha informed.

The winners will be presented the awards at a programme to be organized at Bhrikutimandap, Kathmandu on January 12. The winner will receive a cash prize of Rs 100,000 followed by Rs 50,000 for second winner and Rs 25,000 for third winner. Three poets will be provided with consolation award with cash Rs 10,00 each. #Nepal