•      Wed Apr 24 2024

Ram Sahay Prasad Yadav elected as the Vice President

Kathmandu, March 17: Janata Samajwadi Party leader Ram Sahay Prasad Yadav has been elected as the vice president of Nepal.

In the election held on Friday, Yadav was elected as the vice president after defeating UML vice president Ashtalakshmi Shakya and Janamat Party leader Mamta Jha.

Yadav got 30,328 votes. He got 14,536 votes for the federal parliament and 15,792 votes for the provincial assembly.

Members of the House of Representatives, National Assembly and State Assembly voted for the Vice President. The total number of votes in the House of Representatives, National Assembly and Provincial Assembly is 52,628. Yadav was elected with more than 26,314 votes.

Similarly, UML candidate Ashtalakshmi Shakya, the closest competitor, got 8,112 votes for the state and 8,216 for the federal parliament, with a total of 16,328 votes. According to the Office of the President-Vice President Election Officer, the vice presidential candidate Mamta Jha received 2,537 votes.

Similarly, Pramila Kumari, another vice presidential candidate from JSP, has got 48 votes for the province, i.e. 1 MP vote. As Ramsahay Prasad Yadav became the official candidate of the ruling coalition, Pramila declared her candidature inactive.

Elected as the Vice President, Yadav is also a member of the House of Representatives elected from Bara-2. He is also the leader of the parliamentary party of JSP. Yadav, who was born in Kalaiya of Bara in 2027BS, has studied up to B.Sc., B.Ed. After leaving the teaching profession, he started his political journey from Nepal Sadbhavana Party after 2046BS.

Newly-elected VP Yadav pledges to work to strengthen national unity

Newly-elected Vice-President Ramsahaya Prasad Yadav has pledged to honestly discharge his duty to strengthen and promote national unity.

Talking to media-persons after being elected the Vice-President, he said, “The country pursues prosperity. The peace process has yet to reach a conclusion. I will honestly do my duty in taking the peace process to a conclusion.”

Yadav, who registered his candidacy from the Janata Samajwadi Party, got a total of 30,328 vote weightage (184 votes from federal parliamentarians and 329 from the members of Province Assemblies) while his nearest rival CPN (UML)’s Astalaxmi Shakya secured 16,328 vote weightage (104 votes from federal parliamentarians and 169 votes from the members of Province Assemblies).

Chief Election Commissioner Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya handed certificates to the newly-elected Vice-President amid a ceremony.
Moreover, Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ and Nepali Congress President and former Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba congratulated the Vice-President.