•      Fri Jun 2 2023

Basundharashree Award to Dr. Ruit, Manashree Award to Dr. Pun

Kathmandu, April 19: Basundhara-Man Pragya-Pratishthan will be presenting Basundharashree Award for the year 2023 to Dr. Sanduk Ruit and the Manashree Award to Dr. Mahaveer Pun.

The special meeting held on Wednesday under the chairmanship of Dr. Dubasu Chhetri, the chancellor of Pragya-Pratishthan, has made the decision noting that both Dr Ruit and Pun has a significant contribution to make the Nepali society healthy, prosperous and advanced through the services of health education, health awareness and ophthalmology.

It has been decided to award the Basundharashree Award for the year 2023 to senior opthalmologist Dr. Ruit.

Similarly, the meeting has decided to award the Manshree Award for the year 2023 to the senior scientist Dr. Mahavir Pun, who has contributed significantly to the development of science and technology in Nepal through the National Innovation Center and has made a special contribution to keep the introduction, identity and reputation of Nepal and the Nepali race high and intact in the world community.

Dr. Ruit, who was born in Olangchungola, Taplejung district on 2011 BS, has served humanity by treating the eyes of millions of local and foreign citizens by establishing Tilganga Eye Hospital and hundreds of camps. Ruit has already been honored with dozens of honors and awards, including Rashtradeep, Isa Awards, Raman Magsaysay and Padma Shree Bibhushan, according to the member-secretary of Pragya-Pratishthan Krisu Chhetri.

Born in Nangi, Myagdi District on 2011 BS, Dr. Pun has been honored with dozens of honors, medals and awards, including Raman Magasesay and Jonathan Postel, for his incomparable contribution to the development of education, communication technology and science in Nepal.