•      Mon May 20 2024

Cabinet forms committee for appointing officer-bearers for two Commissions

Minister Rekha Sharma (file)

Kathmandu, April 12: Government has formed recommendation committee for appointing officer-bearers for the two commissions related to transitional justice.

The cabinet meeting convened at Singha Durbar in Kathmandu today decided to form a committee chaired by former Chief Justice Om Prakash Mishra to recommend Chairperson and members for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and Commission for Investigation on Enforced Disappeared Persons.

The Committee includes former Justice at the Supreme Court Jagadish Sharma Poudel, Dr Arjun Kumar Karki and Stella Tamang, shared Minister for Communication and Information Technology Rekha Sharma.

House prorogued 

The meeting also decided to recommend President Ram Chandra Paudel to end the current session of the parliament by mid night of May 14, informed Minister Sharma, also the Spokesperson of the government.

Anjan Shakya recommended for NA seat

Likewise, the meeting has decided to recommend to President Paudel to nominate Dr Anjan Shakya in the vacant seat of the National Assembly.

Honorary consul in Ohio, USA

Furthermore, the meeting decided to give orange the recognition of national fruit. Similarly, Dr Damodara Poudel has been appointed the Honorary Consular General for the Ohio State of the USA.