•      Sat Jul 20 2024

Cabinet recommends ambassadors for eight countries

Kathmandu, June 21: The government of Nepal has recommended ambassadors for eight different countries. The meeting of the Council of Ministers held on Friday decided to recommend the appointment of ambassadors.

According to Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Padam Giri, the government has recommended former Chief Secretary Lok Darshan Regmi for India, former Secretary Chandra Ghimire for the United States of America, Dr Bijen Pant for the United Kingdom, Sushil Pyakurel (human rights activist) for South Korea, Sumnima Tuladhar for Denmark, Pushparaj Ranjitkar for Spain, Netra Prasad Timalsina for Malaysia and Abu-Sufan Khan Musalman for Saudi Arabia.

Earlier, the top leaders from the current coalition had decided to allocate envoys to be decided. According to the agreement, CPN UML would recommend 8 envoys, CPN Maoist Centre 1 and RSP 3. However, the RSP has not nominated their quota.

The Council of Ministers meeting has appointed various people as consul general. The meeting has decided to appoint Sanjeev Kumar Sharma as an unpaid consul in the Australian state of New South Wales and Nirajan Gauli as an unpaid consul in the Australian state of Victoria.

Loan and grant

Law Minister Giri said that the meeting decided to accept concessional loan assistance of 80 million dollars from the World Bank. The meeting also decided to accept an additional grant of 8.1 million pound sterling from the British government for the reconstruction and rehabilitation of infrastructure damaged due to the latest earthquake in Karnali province under the local infrastructure support program.

Appointments in DDC, Electricity Commission

Similarly, Dr. Rajendra Prasad Yadav has been appointed as the executive director of the National Dairy Development Board. The meeting also decided to give in-principle approval to draft a bill related to copyright.

Likewise, the cabinet meeting has decided to appoint Dr. Ram Prasad Dhital as the chairman of the Electricity Regulatory Commission and Madhusudan Adhikari and Jhamak Prasad Sharma as members. #nepal

Discover more from Enewspolar

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading