•      Thu Sep 28 2023

CAN announce Nepali team for Asia Cup cricket

Kathmandu, Aug 14: The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced a 17-member squad under the captaincy of Rohit Paudel for the Asia Cup cricket tournament.

Today CAN has announced the Nepali cricket team for the tournament to be held in Pakistan and Sri Lanka from August 30 to September 17.

Along with captain Paudel, team included Ashif Sheikh, Kushal Bhurtel Lalit Rajbanshi, Bhim Sharki, Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Sandeep Lamichhane, Karan KC, Gulsan Jha, Aarif Sheikh, Sompal Kami and Pratish GC.

Similarly, Kishore Mahato, Sandeep Zora, Arjun Saud and Shyam Dhakal have alo been selected. Nepal, which is going to participate in the Asia Cup for the first time, is in Group ‘A’. India and Pakistan are in Nepal’s group. Similarly, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan remain in Group B.

Nepal will play its first group match in Pakistan and the second match in Sri Lanka.

The first match between Nepal and Pakistan will be held on August 31. Similarly, Nepal will play its second match against India. The match between Nepal and India will be played in Sri Lanka. The match will be held on September 4.

According to CAN, Nepali team will go through a week-long preparation camp in Pakistan, where the team will train and play matches against PCB-designated teams.