•      Wed Jun 19 2024

Madhes Province CM seeking vote of confidence for third time today

Madhes Province Chief Minister Saroj Kumar Yadav. (file)

Janakpurdham, Feb 18: Chief Minister of Madhes Province Saroj Kumar Yadav is taking a vote of confidence from the Province Assembly for the third time today.

A meeting of the Province Assembly has been called for 2.00 pm today for this purpose. CM Yadav is facing floor test after the Janamat Party on January 23 withdrew its support to his government.

Before this, Yadav had to take a vote of confidence for the second time on June 13, 2023 after the CPN (UML) pulled out his government on May 15, 2023.

The constitution requires that the government should seek the vote of confidence within 30 days if any party supporting it quits the government.

The Chief Minister requires the support of 54 members out of the total 107 members of the Province Assembly for winning the vote of confidence.

The largest party in the Assembly, the CPN (UML) has 23 members, the Nepali Congress 22 members, the Janata Samajwadi Party 18 members, the Janamat Party 13 members and the Loktantrik Samajbadi Party and the CPN (Maoist Centre) nine members each, the CPN (Unified Socialist) has seven members while Nepal Sanghiya Samajwadi Party, the Nagarik Unmukti Party and the Rastriya Prajatantra Party each has one member. Three members are independents.

The Madhes Province government is led by the Janata Samajbadi Party. The Nepali Congress, the Loktantrik Samajwadi Party, the Maoist Centre and CPN (Unified Socialist) are in the government. The government has the support of 65 members from these four parties in the ruling coalition. #Nepal