•      Sat Jul 13 2024

Maoist Centre finalizes candidacies for National Assembly election

File photo

Kathmandu, Jan 7: The CPN (Maoist Centre) has finalised the candidacies for the National Assembly (NA) upcoming elections scheduled to take place on January 25.

A meeting of the party’s office bearers convened at the Prime Minister’s official residence, Baluwatar today took a decision to this effect.

According to party secretary Devendra Paudel, Champadevi Karki (Koshi Province), Shree Krishna Adhikari, Manarupa Sharma (Gandaki), Jhakku Subedi (Lumbini), Bishnu Bishwakarma (Karnali) and Renu Chand (Sudur Paschim) have been picked as the party candidates for the upper house election.

Earlier, a meeting of the coalition partners took place at the Prime Minister’s official residence, Baluwatar this morning agreed on joint candidacies for the upper house elections, NC leader Ramesh Lekhak said.

As per the agreement, the NC will have 10 candidates followed by six from the CPN (Maoist Centre), two from the CPN (Unified Socialist) and one from the Janata Samajbadi Party. The nomination for the remaining one seat shall be made by the President on the recommendation of the Council of Ministers.

With the elections scheduled for January 25, today marks the publication of the voter name list, and tomorrow is the day for registrations of candidacies. The final list of candidates is set to be published on January 11. #Nepal

Discover more from Enewspolar

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading