•      Thu Jul 25 2024

Office of Election Officer to be established from Jan. 1

Election Commission Nepal
Election Commission Nepal

Kathmandu, Dec 29: Office of the Election Officer is to be established in all provinces from coming January 1 for the National Assembly elections scheduled for January 25.

The Election Commission on December 28 had appointed district judges of seven districts as the election officer in accordance with National Assembly Election Act, 2055, to be effective from January 1.

Following the appointment, election officers should establish Office of the Election Officer in the respective provinces, said EC Spokesperson, Shaligram Sharma Paudel.

The EC has appointed District Court Morang judge Durga Prasad Dhungel in Koshi province, District Court Dhanusha judge Narayan Prasad Subedi in Madhes province, District Court Makawanpur judge Mahendra Bahadur Karki in Bagmati province, District Court Kaski judge Keshav Prasad Bastola in Gandaki province, District Court Dang judge Kripasur Karki in Lumbini province, District Court Surkhet judge Bishnu Prasad Aryal in Karnali province and District Court Kailali judge Om Prasad Aryal in Sudurpaschim province.

January 8 is fixed for filing of nomination paper of candidates for the National Assembly election.

The tenure of 20 upper house members, including 19 elected ones and one member nominated by the President, is terminating on March 3.

The legal provision requires that the election should be held one month before the conclusion of the tenure.

Discover more from Enewspolar

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading