•      Mon Jul 22 2024

Parliamentary Committee approves names of SC judges

Parliamentary hearing at Singh Durbar, 2023.

Kathmandu, Dec 20: The Parliamentary Hearing Committee has endorsed the names of six as future judges of Supreme Court (SC) of Nepal. A meeting of the Committee today endorsed the recommendations put forth by the Judicial Council.

Chaired by Committee senior-most member Pashupati Shumsher Rana, the meeting approved the nominations of Sarangha Subedi, Abdul Ajij Musalman, Mahesh Sharma Poudel, Tek Prasad Dhungana, Sunil Pokhrel and Balkrishna Dhakal for appointments as the apex court judges.

The Committee had conducted parliamentary hearings on the recommendations on December 15, 17 and 18.

The Judicial Council on November 21 nominated six as future SC judges.

Constitutional provisions

According to Article 292 of the Constitution of Nepal, parliamentary hearings shall be conducted as to appointments to the offices of the Chief Justice and Judges of the Supreme Court, members of the Judicial Council, chiefs and members of Constitutional Bodies, who are appointed on the recommendation of the Constitutional Council under this Constitution, and to the offices of ambassadors, as provided for in the Federal law.

For the purposes of clause (1), there shall be formed a fifteen-member joint committee consisting of members of both Houses of the Federal Parliament, in accordance with the Federal law.

No member of the joint committee under clause (2) shall practice law in the Supreme Court during that term of the Federal Parliament.

President appoints judges

Meanwhile, the President Ram Chandra Paudel has appointed the judges at Supreme Court after approval from the Parliamentary Hearing Committee.

Discover more from Enewspolar

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading