•      Thu Mar 30 2023

Rastriya Swatantra Party’s three ministers call it quits

RSP Ministers Dol Prasad Aryal, Shishir Khanal and Dr Toshima Karki submit their resignation to the Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal Prachanda on February 5, 2023. (Photo: PMO)

Kathmandu, Feb 5: Three ministers from Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) have tendered their resignations to Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ on Sunday evening.

Minister for Labour, Employment and Social Security Dol Prasad Aryal, Minister for Education, Science and Technology Shishir Khanal, and Minister of State for Health and Population Dr Toshima Karki, handed over their resignation letters to the PM by visiting the latter at the Office of the Prime Minister.

Earlier, the RSP had decided to quit the government by holding a joint meeting of the party’s central committee members and party lawmakers. The meeting had decided to recall its ministers and state minister from the government.

Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSS) holding press conference to announce their withdrawal from the present Prachanda-led government on February 5, 2023. (Photo: newspolar.com)

Despite resignation as the ministers, the party has not withdrawn its support to the incumbent government.

RSP was demanding for the portfolio of Ministry of Home Affairs. But PM Prachanda has rejected the demand of RSP after ruling CPN Maoist Centre has pressured PM Prachanda to take Home Ministry.