•      Sat Jul 13 2024

Three-member probe committee formed to probe into Balkumari incident

Kathmandu, Dec 29: The Home Ministry has formed a three-member committee to investigate into the Balkumari incident that took place today.

The probe committee is led by Deputy Superintendent of Police at the Kathmandu Valley Police Office, Lalmani Acharya, where Assistant Chief District Officer of Lalitpur, Amar Deep Sunuwar, and Deputy Director of Investigation at the National Investigation Department, Basu Sigdel are the members.

The probe committee has been asked to submit the report within seven days after carrying out investigation into the incident.

A press release issued today by the Home Ministry expressed grief over the vandalism, arson, and the physical damage and human causalities occurred in Balkumari today on the issue of EPS examination form.

Balkumari demonstration: Two killed

Two persons, who were injured in a clash with police personnel in course of demonstration at Balkumari of Lalitpur today, died.

Spokesperson of the Nepal Police, Deputy Inspector General Kuber Kadayat, confirmed the death of two persons.

The deceased have been identified as Birendra Shah, 22, of Doti and Sujan Rawat, 23, of Dailekh. Both of them died in course of treatment, he added.

Injured Rawat died while undergoing treatment at KIST Hospital while Shah breathed his last at Patan Hospital. Youths demonstrated today, citing they were barred from appearing in the EPS examination.

Earlier, the protestors had set the vehicle of Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport, Prakash Jwala, on fire.

A clash took place between protestors and police personnel following the incident. Police had fired blank shots and tear gas shells to bring the situation under control.

Discover more from Enewspolar

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading